Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Laurelmere Cottage

Yesterday's reconnoiter paid off handsomely today. We met our friend Richard as planned at the Wickow Way Café in Marlay Park, sat at one of the nearby benches to enjoy our coffee/tea and headed off to explore a different park of the park.

I found it hard going and had to stop several times to sit down and rest before moving on. I have an appointment with my GP tomorrow. I've missed out badly on my non-Covid health problems because the pandemic got all the attention and other concerns were side-stepped for the past four months. The GP referred me for an MRI ages ago, but I haven't even received notification of an appointment date yet. The situation is complicated because only one hospital (the Mater) is prepared to take patients with pacemakers for MRIs. The GP 'upgraded' me to 'urgent' back in May, but I'm still waiting.

Anyway … during our much-interrupted stroll we came across Laurelmere Cottage, which was recently restored for the Horticultural Society of Ireland (and very well it looks). Part of the grassed area in front of the building has been set aside as meadowland, a trend which is really taking off and looks really attractive.

The extra shows the tower which is part of the courtyard of the popular Petting Farm in the Park (closed at present because of Covid-19, of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.