things, bits & bobs...

By Nicpic

Worrying...

It's always been pretty easy to find a water vole where I go to watch them. I've been watching them in this place for a number of years. Last summer/autumn was the first time that we struggled to find any at all. I visited on a warmish day before lockdown and found and few signs, but had no vole sightings at all.

I went last week and as it was very busy with people, only looked at one of the two conduits there. It was very sad to see no signs at all with lots of big growth of grass where usually thee would be 'chomped lawns.' 

I went back today to look at the 2nd conduit as the forecast wasn't great, and I thought it wouldn't be so busy with people. I was right re people but it was actually a nice warm and bright spell whilst I was there. Lots of signs on this conduit thankfully and I managed to have 2 brief sightings of water voles. One looked like a youngster (the one in this pic) and the other was definitely an adult. I think I need to go back early in the morning and keep my fingers crossed. #BCSplash

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.