Kendal at 1.40 pm. A Rolls Royce waits behind the taxi at the lights. Not sure what it was doing there as the road is for buses, taxis and essential vehicles only.

It was a rainy day, I had some M&S vouchers which expire at the end of the month and I thought the town centre would be quiet. Very, very wrong ……. I can’t remember when I last saw it as busy. Glad I had the sense not to try M&S car park because it was full, possibly because it’s still free. 

I did have problems with the pay machine in the car park I chose ……. my £1 coin registered but 20p and 10p coins went straight through. I couldn’t read the instructions for contactless payments ….. they were high up and the plastic cover had gone opaque. A young man waiting behind offered to help and explained how to to it. Social distancing was not observed but it was an emergency situation! 

I was lucky there were no queues outside the shops I wanted to go in and was back at the car with three minutes to spare and just enough time for a drink of coffee from my flask.

Back home and my husband said I’d missed seeing a woodpecker on the nuts. That’s another first for the garden. Hope it returns. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.