Wake up and smell the bread!

When I was a child, the only time I would have tasted bought bread was at other children's parties. (And as, in the 1950s, they were usually filled with ughhy meat-paste, I didn't even taste it then.) Our family never ate anything but home-made bread, baked by my father. He went on baking bread nearly all his life, until infirmity stopped him. Just before that, my parents invested in a modern bread-making machine. I think they only used it a handful of times. As we've inherited the machine, last night we decided it would be nice to wake up this morning to the fresh aroma of home-made bread. So we put it to the test. And here's the result. Not too shabby and very toothsome. Of course, it's already half gone. But 'half a loaf is better than no bread', as they say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.