For Caroline

I don’t usually light candles in memory of a lost loved one but these are strange times. In fact I’ve never done this before.

One of my school gate friends died earlier this month.
It was her funeral today. As only 30 people could be present, the family provided candles and asked people to light them at 12 midday wherever they were, to mark the time the family gathered to say their goodbyes.

They asked people to send photos of their lit candles. I hope it was a comfort to them to know that many of us who couldn’t be there physically were with them in thought and prayer.

Having moved away, I used one of my own candles, but later in the day, the post brought me the candle and tag which is in the extra. So touched that Caroline’s husband sent us one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.