Herding Gamebirds

I've had a lovely morning and extended a little further out of my lockdown status.  As Tony set up for delivering his session on course planning on Virtual Lagganlia, I set out to walk to Haworth.  I met with friend Helen at Crossroads and we took a circuitous route edging the moor to come down in to the village in search of a cafe we could sit outside, a first for me.  The bottom part of Haworth was very quiet.  Normally the area around the Worth Valley Railway would be buzzing with tourists in July, but no evidence of that today.  The cafe above the bridge had tables outside and Helen said today's coffees were on her, thank you Helen, so we sat and ate delicious brownies and caught up with families and stuff until it was time to give up our table and head home.  Smashing!

On my walk over to Haworth I suddenly attracted this group of youngsters, with more joining as I walked along the path.  It's difficult to tell if they are grouse or pheasants?  Any ideas?  Thankfully they disappeared through a hedge as I turned the bend as I didn't want to be herding them all the way to Crossroads!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.