Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Lavender

Every year I go visit the Mayfield Lavender Farm as it is not far from where I live. Due to the late frosts we had this year their lavender crop was later than usual, but after checking their website I decided to go today as the flowers were now all in bloom. However the forecast was for thick clouds today and I would have preferred a blue sky. Luckily it was wrong and I got sunshine and blue skies when I was there.

As Xena went out with P the dog walker this morning I got there quite early. Imagine my disappointment when I arrived and saw it so busy, as I had stupidly thought that with lockdown and the lack of foreign tourists it would be quieter than usual. I almost turned around and went home but thought I might as well see if I could get any decent shots today. 

I was delighted to see a worker harvesting the lavender. I have never seen them cutting it down before so I watched for a while and stayed away from the cafe area and the other 'props' that they have in the field for photos, as I have enough cheesy photos of those. The smell was beautiful, it can't be a bad job having to cut lavender. I tried to speak to the worker to ask about the process but he could not speak any English. I took some photos and managed to stay away from all the posing couples and children, and then headed home. I have managed to take photos to exclude the people in them and if not they were easy to clone out. If you would like to see more lavender images you can see them here.

Back home I had a coffee and then went grocery shopping. It is strange how all the shoppers wear masks but the staff in the supermarket don't have to. Admittedly it must be awful to have to wear a mask all day so I can see their point, and I presume they are taking safety checks of their staff.

Tonight Gavin and I are going out to dinner which I am looking forward to. The restaurant already phoned me about the safety measures in place so hopefully it will all be good.

And tomorrow, a very early start as we are going for a little road trip to Norfolk for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.