#1 Newton Mere

Time for a series I think, a new challenge to keep things fresh.

I am enjoying btc and his fabulous themed photos of London and being as I love a good list I thought it might be time to do one myself. Being of a rural persuasion once the sun goes down that is it for exterior shots so I am not going for a long continuous run of photos as there is literally not enough hours in the day to manage the distances required, particularly at this time of the year. My aim therefore is to produce at least one a week, that should be possible all being well.

I have lived in Shropshire since I was 5 years old in 1976 so although I was actually born in Winchester I feel that this County that I have lived in almost continuously for 37 years deserves to be the subject of this series. I am sure a few landmarks from just outside the County will sneak in but they will have to be a bit special and no more than 5 miles from the County line.

Shropshire is a beautiful County and one completely overlooked by the masses which suits folk here perfectly as there are hills, valleys, rivers and lakes just as beautiful as the most famously picturesque parts of the country. I can walk for hour upon hour in the company of no-one but myself. In the hills on a clear day you can see the Snowdon horseshoe, Liverpool waterfront, the Pennines beyond Manchester, the Peak District beyond Leek, the Black Country, chunks of Herefordshire and Worcestershire and the mountains and hills of Mid Wales.

My aim is to take photos of the lakes, rivers, castles, canals, hills, towns, mosses, woods and other stuff that makes up this County.

Anyway enough burble.

Newton Mere SJ 425 342 is one of the 9 main meres surrounding Ellesmere, unlike the meres in the Lake District these are the result of glacial kettle holes and are therefore not topped up by streams. Wikipedia link


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.