Ogatodomar

By Ogatodomar

MONTGOMERY OF ALAMEIN

Yes - a signed photograph of Monty & sitting on his right is my stepfather, SqLdr W. H. J. Daw aka "Dickie".

This is probably the proudest moment of the Dickie's life - the photo was certainly one of his proudest possessions.

Dickie to be fair, did his best to be a good stepfather - he took me to all sorts of horse racing events, stock-car racing & moto-cross - he had a whale of a time & I was bored witless!

Poor guy never had the least inkling as to what it was made me tick - one time I wrote him a 19 page letter trying to give him a clue & he replied, "Dear David, Thank you for your your letter. I wish you all the best with all your projects. Love Dickie"...

Years later, I asked my mother what he had made of my letter & she said, "Oh, he was terrified!"

Ho hum...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.