Bürresheim Castle, Mayen, GERMANY

Back to Mayen today to visit this fab-looking piece of estate!  I did mention last time that it was open only on Fridays and the weekend.  I also predicted that indoor photographs would not be allowed, and I was right.

AW left for Eindhoven around 11.20, and I left about 10 minutes before him.  It was raining here, not heavily but enough to clean the windshield, but I knew it was going to be sunny there, and that was the whole point anyway -- to follow the sun.  AW predicted heavy jams on the motorways because the Germans are now officially on holiday, but there were no such obstacles, and, in fact, there were moments when I seemed to be the only one on the motorway.  Many Dutch were on the road, though, and headed in the same direction, most likely with destinations further south.  The Eifel area is very picturesque, and dotted with campsites, so a good place for a stopover.  Arrived just a bit before 15.00, had the tour, everyone wearing face masks, and was done by around 15.45.  After Mayen, drove to nearby Maria Laach.  There's a famous church there, founded by Henry II, once connected to the Holy Roman Empire.  He is buried there as well. See extra.

The first extra is of one of the medieval city gates in Mayen itself, which I couldn't shoot last time.

Again no jams on the way back.   It was relatively sunny in Germany and the rain only began once I was back in Dutch territory.  I was home even earlier than last Wednesday, around 20.35.  No word from AW nor from me to him, and that was the agreement, too -- one will contact the other only in case of emergency, no news is good news.  I actually like that we can let go of each other this way.  It makes me very conscious of the responsibility I have to take care of myself because I wish to, and not only because someone is hovering around with some kind of worry.

No idea what I'll do tomorrow.  It will depend on weather, distance, mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.