Boomerang

By Boomerang

Going for a ramble

This rambling rose (Kiftsgate) takes me by surprise every year so I decided it was time to immortalise it then I will know when to look for it next year. I planted it three years ago at the base of a silver birch in our garden and left it to do its own thing, feeding it a couple of times a year. It has masses of small flowers in bunches all over the tree. Unfortunately, these grow too high in the tree for me to be able to appreciate the strong musk fragarance of this lovely rambler.

It's been a showery day but with some lengthy sunny intervals. I'm pleased that the tomatoes in the polytunnel seem to be maturing at last, although they are still green.

I made lasagne for dinner using beef from a local farm. It's ages since we last had this so it was a tasty change, especially with the very flavoursome local meat. As there are just two of us, I made two small ones so there will be one in the freezer for an easy meal in the future.

We are very fortunate to have a locally raised quality beef, pork and lamb which is dealt with at the local abattoir so there are very few food miles involved in the production.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.