Wait! Don't Go

I heard a young hawk crying somewhere near; I went out to the road and started to look for it. As I got a little ways up the street the cries started coming from the other side of the street and that is when I realized there were two young hawks somewhere....one on each side of the road....somewhere up in one of the Pine Trees....I decided to look behind the house across the street from us and there he was.....I knew the bright sun behind him would not be good for taking a photo, but knew I had to take a safety shot before I walked closer.....it was a good idea because he suddenly flew to another tree, but now he was somewhere I couldn't see him. So, this is the only shot I got...It isn't great but you can see the panic on his face. When I walked into the house I heard a bird hit the back window.....it was a Hairy Woodpecker and he was hanging on to the window screen with his feet...I walked outside and he flew to a nearby bush where I was able to get a shot of him. I am assuming he is a confused young woodpecker because he was breaking off little branches as he climbed up a bigger branch....finally he started pecking on the bark before he flew to a tree on the other side of our fence. See the extra photo.....maybe I will get a better photo if he goes to my suet feeder later.

Anyway, it is a beautiful day at the beach.....not too hot and not too cold....just right at 72F. I don't do well when it gets too hot so I was glad I wasn't in Portland at 100F!!!

Our son and his wife are down at Rockaway Beach too so they came over for a visit this afternoon; it was very pleasant sitting outside on our deck. It is nice that the chairs are naturally placed about 6 feet apart. They are down here dealing with a broken pipe problem caused by a mouse chewed plastic pipe upstairs at my daughter in law's parents' house.....the downstairs is completely damaged and covered with mold....yuck......luckily there is the master bedroom upstairs. The downstairs has been demolished down to the studs....we will see it tonight because we are going over there  to watch the sunset on their deck overlooking the ocean......it is a beautiful view.....I might add a photo later.

Stay safe, live life to the fullest and be nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.