About to turn

By jMcLean

Down and Up

A shot of my laptop behind a hydrangea Marti picked. I got some editing done, which is good, but am woefully behind on my writing goal. Hope to do a little more tonight.

Felt a bit reclusive today, with a yearning for home. But after fixing dinner (spaghetti and meatballs and some easy leftovers) and sitting around the table, where we all cracked each other up with silly pet stories, things perked up. 

Spent time next door with Harry. I sat and read by his recliner, and he asked for a book from his office. I haven't seen him reading the whole time I've been here, and he was a voracious reader. I also think he would have enjoyed Blip. Ellie has brought photos into the sunroom from Harry's office, including some that he took himself during his journalism days. He worked for the New York Herald Tribune after graduating from Columbia in the early '50s, post Korean War, and then covered news in the Mississippi Delta on the cusp of the Civil Rights Era. Then was a professor of journalism at Baylor University (back in his native Texas), the University of Arkansas, and Kansas State University. So there are lots of photos, lots of stories. I'm so lucky to have seen and heard many of them.

Hope you all have a good week ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.