OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Brough of Birsay

I got the Octo bus up to Birsay. I usually wear specs but put in contacts today because I thought it would be windy up there and specs get covered in spray but one lens didn't seem to be in properly and I spent most of the trip pulling faces and eye-rolling. I don't think the other passenger will be back. It didn't work so I had to get the specs on. No wind, so it didn't matter. I walked the shores near Buckquoy and then, as the tide was low, walked over to the Brough. A pair of ravens were already nest-building. I made coffee at the lighthouse, then noticed that the sheep were following me- I was like the Pied Piper of Ramelin Hamelin. More here.
Near the village, later, I got a glaucous gull- my first nearctic gull of the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.