lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

A Life with Books

Title is of an essay by Julian Barnes, that lives on these shelves - quote from final page: "I have no Luddite prejudice against new technology; it's just that books look as if they contain knowledge, while e-readers look as if they contain information." Precisely.

(This blip is copied from mishkid's - thanks for idea, my love.)

The shelves were made by my son, from a pallet we got out of a skip, to house my collection of tiny books. There is everything here: Shakespeare; children's books; a Spanish Bible; an 1895, 2" high leather copy of Imitation of Christ with its own tiny ribbon marker; a Welsh dictionary; lots of poetry; my own collection of quotes I love begun in 1975; paintings; a book on birdsong with gorgeous illustrations by Madeleine Floyd...

Also, a small globe always turned to Brazil, and a photo of my sister and I in the Amazon about half a century ago.

Expect it's obvious that these shelves have given me MUCH pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.