King of the Ferns

Another grey day today. After getting nowhere much with Family History I went out for a walk to get some air. (This reminds me of a story which I may have told before. My great-grandfather, who was born in Henley, set off one day to walk to London. I don't know which route he followed, but he told of bathing in the Thames en route. Even a straight walk on roads is getting on for 40 miles. He told his mother, apparently, that he arrived at his lodgings in time for dinner. When asked what he did after dinner he replied 'We went out for a walk'!)

Anyway, I walked around our local roads without going down to the town - it was raining so I didn't go too far. Had a couple of chats on the way, took a number of photographs few of which I really liked, and settled for this fern, growing at the foot of the rocks in my own fern bed!

It's the King Fern, Todea barbara, which is native to SE Australia, North Island New Zealand, and parts of southern Africa. In spite of its origin, it's reasonably hardy and enjoys a damp spot. This isn't hard to find, particularly on a day like this!

Quote of the day:

W. S. Merwin - "Come back, believer in shade, believer in silence and elegance, believer in ferns, believer in patience, believer in the rain."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.