Scoured

Firstly, can I just say how amazed I am at the number of enthusiastic comments that were posted yesterday for my cake blip! Thank you, one and all! But it's a cake - nothing artistic or clever, it wasn't moving or doing anything exciting - it was sitting there, half eaten! Obviously something close to a lot of people's hearts!

Today we are back to the wreck of the Monarch. The difference after all the storms of the last few days is quite dramatic. The black top layer on the timbers has been scoured off by the waves and sea, exposing fresh new wood underneath. Lots more pieces of wood have been broken off and lie scattered along the shore. It's not surprising really, the storms were very dramatic, with a 64 foot wave being recorded off Stromness! I shall continue taking photos of it, recording its sad disintegration. Don't worry, I won't blip them all!

The vessel in the bay is the floating pontoon used for the ferry which goes between John O'Groats and Burwick. The ferry only operates in the summer months, so the pontoon spends the winter safely at anchor here.

Feeling much better these last couple of days, think I've finally shaken this flu-y bug, so this morning I headed off to town for a good swim and an aqua-zumba class. Very energetic, must have burned off at least two slices of cake! To make sure, Ollie and I went for a walk up over the hill this afternoon. Now I'm feeling peckish again . . . !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.