Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The scan

I met my GP on Thursday to check progress on my various referrals. We concentrated on getting to the bottom of my walking problem and he upgraded his previous referral for a lumbar scan from public to private. I got a call the next day offering an appointment for today.

I've been singing the praises of our health service over the years, pointing out that once you're 'in the system' you couldn't wish for better care. The arrival of the coronavirus has changed that. Understandably, dealing with the pandemic became the absolute priority, but a most unfortunate consequence has been that normal ongoing ailments have been pushed aside and waiting lists have lengthened.

I've always been a public patient and regularly compare the small amounts I've been paying for my various appointments and procedures with the mad insurances premiums and hospital charges others face by 'going private'. But my walking problem has got to the stage where I've had to abandon my principles, which is why I asked my GP to refer me privately for today's scan.

The place I went to is very swish and modern and flashy, but the machine I lay on is no different to the ones I've experienced before. It still galls me that I got an appointment so quickly because I was prepared to pay for the privilege. I do not like that. Anyway … I had my scan, and even got a digital copy on CD to take away with me. The only important thing, of course, is what the scan shows and what happens next. My GP hinted that he might need to refer me to neurologist (another ologist to add to my already long list!). We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.