CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Wet at West Bay, next to the shingle dunes

Patrick drove me to Beaminster to meet M. who was selling me her small car. She'd bought it as a new car but has only driven 59,000 miles and sadly now she has been told she cannot drive anymore. I found her lovely Dorset cottage tucked away at the heart of town and after a quick and delightful chat we conducted business. M. was rather sad to lose her car, which she'd looked after so well, but she liked the print I'd made for her of a local scene at West Bay. 

The rain had been falling all morning and by the time I left it had become nearly torrential. I decided to drive a few miles south to the coast at West Bay to get used to the car and its controls and after a lot of heavy traffic I reached the car park beside the shingle dunes near the small port, where boats can pass out to the sea.

I considered donning my raincoat and risking a short walk to the beach to see the sea. I took this test shot through the windscreen to save time when I was out in the elements. Then I rolled down the side window and took a shot of the famous cliffs in the background, which was the central feature of the rather good TV drama series called 'Broadchurch'. The print I gave to M. featured these spectacular cliffs and the rough sea, as seen from the beach when Patrick and I had last visited in October 2017. But seeing the results changed my mind, and I decided to set off for home, about 120 miles away. I rather like the diffused effect seen in this picture so decided it would mark my day accurately.

The car drove like a dream, was comfortable and seemed to run perfectly. I'm delighted. Thank you so much, Angela.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.