In a Pickle

Ruddy hell, whit a day. Blowing a hoolie with heavy rain so CMC and myself had to rush out and pull the cover over the poly tunnel. I took in some extra beetroot for the chutney making. Meantime we are under a great waffling quilt of a sky. It's pressed in close to the Flow and it's entertaining a few gannets which have been forced in from the Pentland Firth.

I then went through to Quernstones for a birthday pressie. Whilst there I picked up my Mum (she is on display in the window) and took her to HQ for a meal.

So it's a day for knitting, doing a jigsaw, playing crib, playing with a trainset, listening to John Martyn, dressing up, laughing, smoking and having fun. And ordering in some more whisky. All at the same time.

Roger McGough is 82.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.