Plus ça change...

By SooB

Tomato sauce

TallGirl and Jamila headed off early for a day out in Toulouse. Happily the morning was cool - it having unexpectedly poured overnight.

Meanwhile, work proceeded in a fairly measured way, and I even had time to work on billing, much to Mr B’s delight (I am dreadful at getting bills done promptly so generally keep quiet about how behind I am!)

Later, a fortifying salad lunch packed with powerhouse ingredients (eggs, anchovies and pumpkin seeds) had me racing through more tasks, though I did have the sense to tone down a somewhat sarcastic email to a guy who - for the second time - has tried to tell me my job. Later still, a rare trip out for me to collect a prescription, and to meet the train from Toulouse with the returning shoppers.

An early finish, and a foraging trip to the veg garden. To keep on top of the tomato glut, I’m going to make sauce as I go (we have way more than we could ever eat). This time of year always strongly reminds me of Chaiselongue, as it is her recipe/method that I follow. These ones will be roasted, then simmered down slowly and bottled into an intense taste of sunshine. A joy to open in the gloomy winter months.

Right now, the girls are playing Monopoly outside, CarbBoy is hiding upstairs (but since he cleaned my shears and endured an overlong talk on ‘sharpening the saw’, I will leave him be), Mr B has spatchcocked a chicken and is lighting the bbq, and I’m off to find something cool and refreshing and enjoy doing nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.