Gratitude

Thanks to the Forestry Commission deciding to thin and clear the plantation behind us, we now have a much improved track. It seems their logging vehicles are much more susceptible to potholes than mere domestic vehicles, but who am I to be cynical?!!

I counted the rings in the largest trunk; approximately 55, so a bit younger than me. And interestingly, the tightest ring formation I reckon to have occurred in the stonking hot summers in the mid 70's when I was unable to sit still in my Latin 'O' Level exam (eugh) due to sunburn on the back of my legs. Pliny and his ghost in chains saved me :-)) Strange to see it reflected in wood with many years' subsequent growth with all that time and energy passing.

Berry and I drove over to collect my old sewing machine from Walsall where I left it for a service literally the day before lockdown proper. A day before the death of my lovely MIL; the beginning of months of limbo. Funny how these milestones are only milestones in retrospect. Life now is certainly different to Life then. An essential stop at a service station on the way home, with its facemask-wearing (80%, I'd say - what are the others thinking???), brought it into stark reality.

A pither in the garden later, planting chives which replace some of the lettuces which are gradually going. I was tempted to Buy in the garden centre (a stop off for sunflower hearts on the way home as the birds and their babies are so hungry at the moment) but what's the point? I won't be here, hopefully, to enjoy the pleasure of nurturing them as they grow - and they were nearly £20 (!) a throw.

A lovely evening watching 'Amazing Hotels' on the box. I think I've found my perfect venue; glorious music, stunning spa, great bookshop and extraordinary scenery. Better start saving ......!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.