simisue

By simisue

WATER LILIES

Before we moved into this house, my husband & I  had no experience growing WATER LILIES.  The day we moved into this house the fountain with water lilies & goldfish was teeming with algae & was a mess.

My first instinct was to drain it & set the goldfish free in a nearby lake;
but, my husband, zimmt54, had other ideas. Always up for a challenge, he found a great fountain guy who cleaned it, then replaced the pump & filter. 
He got it in tip top shape, (see my July 16th blip) & comes every month to 
keep it that way. 

My husband ordered water lilies in a catalog, & taught himself how to plant & care for them. Once he came home with another exotic plant, but the water lilies are the stars.  They are his darlings.

What you see in this blip is a miracle.  You can see all kinds of amazing
water lilies all over the world, but these water lily flowers are always our favorites.  When they bloom, we are ecstatic.

Later this week it will be 102F (38.8C).  Lots of plants will wilt in that heat, but not the water lilies.  They will be fine & will give the goldfish lots of shade. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.