eo

By eo

My name...

...is Eric.

When my mother was pregnant she heard a radio announcer say "Eric Wild and his Orchestra," and she thought that might be a good name for me. In my youngest years she called me Ricky, and I have an aunt who still calls me Rick.

Once in elementary school I hit some kid, who complained to the principal. However it took days to find me because they were looking for a Derek. Later they realized he had a cold.

My middle name is Peter, after my father, in the patronymic tradition of Eastern European countries. It would be Arkadin Petrovich in Russia. In fact I was called Boris for a couple of years in late high school and early university, and my girlfriend at the time shortened it to Bo. Even our landlord called me Bo, and wondered who was writing his cheques.

These days I repeat that old joke, "I don't care what you call me, just don't call me late for dinner." Most people have no idea whether to spell it Eric or Erik, or even Erick. I was given the first one but don't mind the Erik version.

Of course most of you know me as eo. Whatever works.

(MissyMoo's Name challenge #6, and #3 too)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.