The moment of collapse

A bit of early morning entertainment today, as the demolition team set about the chimney. I managed to catch its collapse, although the light was a little difficult.

Later on, I went for a walk and met up with a visiting postgraduate researcher from another University who has been based in Edinburgh during lockdown. I knew about this from twitter. He's someone I cited in the book, so I thought it would be good to meet face to face for a coffee. I took him to Milk, and showed him something of the railway paths, which he had unaccountably missed during his four months here. It was nice to have a face to face chat with a fellow academic about academic matters. That was the first one I've had since March....

Chapter One is going well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.