Sun in Totnes

So glad I paid extra for next day delivery, as the sun has shone all day. We had a lazy morning, then drove to Totnes where most shops were open, and the whole town looked a whole lot nicer in the sun (but definitely still smaller than it was in the 1970s, and no sign of a town crier - I always remembered the town for that!) I bought this lovely material in a very quirky second hand shop, and it was sitting on a shelf next to this original complete picnic set, that is almost the spit of mine (see yesterdays blip) but unusually has less cutlery even though it is a picnic box for 4 people. The crockery is the same as was originally in mine, but now only one cup survives from my original set, so I am replacing the crockery in mine with vintage melamine, hence the yellow cups, saucers and plates. The fabric I bought for £10 and intend turning it into something lovely for my summerhouse. I'm now on the lookout for a very small ragged footstool to recover, then perhaps there will be enough for a couple of cushions and a frill for the windows. Will need carefull planning.

Photo of Jon and Henry is by the old guildhall in Totnes, tucked behind the church off the high street.

We had lunch by the river in Totnes, then drove back via Ashburton. Still lots of shops only open on certain days and for shorter hours. I did treat myself though,in a hippyish/upcycled shop to some baggy dungarees, which seem quite extravagant now when I think about the cost, but at the time I justified it. We are on holiday after all.

Tagliatelli sitting in the sun by the caravan, with Mollie and Josh who have been off on their own to the beach near Paignton today. This evening a game of dice scrabble (a charity shop buy, not as good as the proper game) then bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.