Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Lockdown Day 129 - Plant Bug

I went looking for a blip in my (rather neglected) garden and spotted this very tiny plant bug with thick flattened antennae on a Japanese anemone petal. Once I had identified it, I went back out to get a better quality capture but it had moved on and couldn't be found.

The bug was about 4mm long. It belongs to the Miridae family (a mirid bug) and I have identified it as Heterotoma planicornis. However, Heterotoma merioptera is very similar, only differing in the microscopic detail of the male's penis!

Not being equipped with such diagnostic aids, and based on its location in Fife, Scotland; I have plumped for Heterotoma planicornis.

Such bugs are generalist feeders and feed on aphids, small spiders and mites, as well as sucking plant sap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.