Summer Scenes: Pipevine Swallowtail

Work business on this day took me into the office to print some documents and grab a few files. Of course, I seized the opportunity, and spun by the Arboretum for a little visit on the way.

Flowers are everywhere, and the lily pond (see the extra photo) has some pretty blooms on it. When I visited the children's garden, I was surprised and delighted to discover this beautiful butterfly. It was huge and black, and was flittering around the orange flowers.

Based on the bright shiny blue/teal shade on its back under-wings and its body, I am guessing it is a pipevine swallowtail. That is a kind of butterfly I hardly ever get to see, so it was a special experience indeed.

A momentous event occurred on this day. Well, of course, it was the International Day of the Tiger, which is always celebrated in our house. And so it was that T. Tiger, as my agent, took delivery of a brand new Mac computer. (I think he thinks it's for HIM.)

All of these years, I have never owned a computer; I have just used the computer I've had at work. Well, guess what: as nice as they've been to me, they're not going to let me take the computer with me when I retire. So the receipt of the computer was a big milestone indeed.

Freedom awaits!

The song is for the butterfly above, and it is also for ME: John Denver and Olivia Newton-John, with Fly Away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.