LauraMR

By LauraMR

Coniglio Selvatico

An old photo today, because I went to the hospital Besta for the doctor's appointment. 

More than a year and half ago, he said that a new medicine was in the proces of being approved. Today, he didn't even mention it, and my situation is worse than before. It means it didn't go through.
Now he left me with two choices, since I can't go on like this, with simple daily activities compromised: enter a medical trial or a cycle of IVIG.
The medical trial seems similar to the one I refused at least five years ago, I need to read the informed consent form, but it seems to be that one, which is bad news: there's nothing new on the horizon, and it require a lot of disponibility from my part in a crucial moment for my carrer, with no garantee that it will be beneficial...or worse. 
The IVIG is a week in day hospital is useful in the short period, but not in the long period, and it's pratically a 'quick fix' to de-escalate the rise of the symptoms. 
Why does it feel like a lose-lose situation? Well, a decisione must be taken, because I can't go on like this and it seems the 'standard medicines' have reached their limit with me.

Sorry for my rambling, just wanted to write this down for 'future reference'

-

Una vecchia foto oggi, perché sono andata all'ospedale Besta per un appuntamento dal neurologo.

Più di un anno e mezzo fa, ha affermato che una nuova medicina era in procinto di essere approvata. Oggi non l'ha nemmeno menzionata e la mia situazione è peggiore di prima. Significa che non è passata.
Ora mi ha lasciato con due scelte, dal momento che non posso continuare così, con semplici attività quotidiane compromesse: entrare in una sperimentazione clinica o fare un ciclo di IVIG.
Il trial sembra simile a quello che ho rifiutato almeno cinque anni fa, ho bisogno di leggere il modulo di consenso informato, ma sembra essere quello, il che è una brutta notizia: non c'è nulla di nuovo all'orizzonte e richiede molta disponibilità da parte mia in un momento cruciale per la mia carriera, senza alcuna garanzia che sarà vantaggioso...o peggio.
L'IVIG è una settimana di degenza in ospedale utile nel breve periodo, ma non nel lungo periodo, ed è praticamente una "soluzione rapida" per ridurre l'aumento dei sintomi.
Perché sembra una situazione lose-lose? Vabbè, una decisione deve essere presa, perché non posso andare avanti così e sembra che le "medicine standard" abbiano raggiunto il limite con me.

Mi scuso per il mio divagare, volevo solo scriverlo per lasciarlo ai posteri.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.