Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

To the West

I honestly couldn't think of a satisfactory way to finish off this July of monochrome blips. My original intention, to produce Kennaesque minimalist masterpieces every day on cue, quickly became lost in the reality that such a thing is quite impossible. Such images simply cannot be coerced into being at the whim of ANY photographer. Even Kenna can't do it. While I shall continue to look for such things, I acknowledge that they will only come when they are darn well good and ready.

Instead, I found myself looking for things that monochrome naturally excels at. All too often, in our search for purity, we imagine that monochrome is always inherently better than colour ... all of the time. I am here to tell you that isn't true ... even though for certain situations, monochrome CAN be inherently better, I think. The trick lies in coming to understand what those situations are. I guess this month has been part of that process for me.

This snapshot, out the window of my car, may definitely be an anti-climax for my July but, for all its discordant mess, it seemed a suitable application for monochrome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.