Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Dotty Flowers

When Ingeborg set the challenge of "dots" for this week's Abstract Thursday, I immediately thought of images I'd seen of a flower seen in a series of water droplets using refraction.  "I can do that" I said to myself!

In the event, it was harder than I thought, and not getting back in from work until late afternoon meant my time was limited.  Fortunately I had glycerine to form the water droplets and glass from an old photo frame, but suitable subjects in the garden where few and far between.  The camera was on the tripod, but I had to hold and manually focus the glass during the 10s shutter delay I set up.  Next time I need to find a way of clamping the glass as well!

This was the best of the shots, by no means perfect but there are dots, and it has given me the inspiration to have another go when I have more time ... and that is what this hobby, and challenges set by the likes of Ingeborg, is all about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.