today's another day

By dbrereton

Mildred by Mistake

Been to Ipswich for a funeral of my dad's cousin Gordon, who lived to a grand old age of 86 despite being 'decapitated by dad' in 1952.

My sister brought this picture and a few others which were great to pass around and tell the old stories at the wake after the service.

Great to see family; sister, my cousins, my 2 for 1 aunties [well one is my aunty the other is her identical twin....] and especially Doreen, Gillian, Steve and Krystian and Hannah. Shame about the circumstances but a good life well lived.

The extra is the back of the photo where my dad had a habit of annotating the picture. He was blipping or instagramming way ahead of his time.

It reads:

Ipswich, Aug 22nd 1952.

Aunty Alice's Garden, Clifford, Gordon and Philip (and Mildred by mistake) almost decapitated by Dad!

So left to right

Mildred, my dad Philip (almost decapitated), Clifford his brother, and Cousin Gordon (headless)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.