One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Really Not Liking It

The headlock. Or the need for a woolly hat to go for a walk on the beach in July. 
For the headlock, I demonstrated to Leo how to get out of one. I wish I hadn't. Or done it a lot more gently. I had forgotten just how effective the pressure point at the base of the nose is. Sorry Leo, I am truly ashamed. 
For the weather, there was nothing that could be done. Except perhaps continuing to pretend that the meteorological conditions are not quite as shite as they actually are. Despite not having bothered my arse packing togs and towels, I could not resist the call of the bay and went for an impromptu swim. 
It turns out that Speedos and towels and googles are way overrated. All you need for an impromptu sea swim is a spaniel. 
Then there was some periwinkle harvesting. And some periwinkle cooking. And some periwinkle eating. 
Then off to Glosh for another, proper swim. With big, fun, waves. And surfers surprised to see a bunch of lunatics in their swimming togs in the breaking waves and the lashing rain. 
Then a huge couscous with the whole gang (thanks Nana!)
Then some belly laughs watching Tommy Tiernan (the Irish trad music session and the free jazz were the highlights). 
A good day. 
Despite the shite weather.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.