Plus ça change...

By SooB

Big yella

Long day.  Awake at 4 something and never quite managed to get back to sleep.  Up properly at 6.30 to be dressed and caffeined before the garage man arrived to jump start the car.  Then a convoy to the garage to abandon the car to it's re-number-plating and battery checking, and ferry us (plus early-rising girls) to the market.

I don't get to the market much just now, obviously, but it was good to have something feel vaguely normal.  I wore a mask if anyone was in range, or if I was actually talking to someone, but otherwise not.  Saw a friend we haven't seen for ages - that's what I really miss about the market, not seeing the people who I don't really know well enough to phone for a chat but still want to keep up to date with.

So, with too many plants, too much cheese and at least two too many melons, home to have breakfast and do the garden!  Much much cooler today - even in the sunny afternoon I don't think it got much above 32C - so a good day to get some garden work done that was more than just necessary watering.  Though tearing bindweed out of lavender is definitely not my favourite job.

Later, into town to deliver Jamila to another friend's house, and home for an afternoon of cooking and baking (tomato sauce and a massive roulade (somehow my thought process did not make the obvious leap from "that's a much bigger tin than I normally use for roulade" to "oh my, this roulade could feed 20 people".)  Tasty though.  And a solution to TallGirl's non-dairy issue - I just left one end of it unfilled (well, filled with lemon/passion fruit curd, but no cream - she refused with horror and vomiting noises my suggestion that I make the filling with silken tofu).

The girls had a long walk before bed (and a small telling off for not telling us where they were going: the dark woods behind the village not being appropriate for walking that late at night).  And a very early night for me. 

Big yella here (it's an Ananas something - I can't read what I wrote on the label!) weighs in at 460g (just over a pound).  Am a bit intimidated as to what to do with it.  I made a huge fattoush salad today - so we're a bit tomatoed out already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.