Willow Emerald And Huey

I thought 'my' willow emerald spreadwing damselflies had deserted me. They do emerge late in the season but I'd seen them by this time in previous years. I was therefore delighted to spot my first two of 2020 today very close to where I have first seen them before. A recent colonist, the beautiful willow emerald damselfly was first recorded in the UK in East Anglia in 2007.

My other image is a AE-413 Bell UH-1H Iroquois which was built in 1973 with US serial 73-22077. It was delivered to the Argentine Army Aviation on 03 Mar 73 as AE-413. It was captured in the Falklands by British forces on 14 Jun 82 and shipped to the UK and was registered G-HUEY on 23 Jul 85. In 1987 it took part in the James Bond movie 'The Living Daylights' 

I heard a helicopter approaching and it was so loud that I thought it would be massive. The sound really reverberated off the boiler house chimney. I think Hueys featured in Apocalypse Now to The Ride of the Valkyries. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.