Dancing Stars

Lady Findhorn might recognize this. I made the quilt in the picture at the top for her in 2004.

Megan, our favorite Pilates teacher is eight months pregnant and next week will be her last and I wanted to make a baby quilt (what else?) for her. She teaches zoom classes from the room which will be the baby’s room. She’s been teaching a lot as shower gifts pile up around the edges. She said the only decor she has had time to do is put stars on the wall so I thought if a version of the dancing stars...

I have made different versions of this quilt but can’t remember where I got the pattern or what I did with it. I managed to find this picture and have spent the day trying to draft a new pattern. Like most of my projects, getting started has been the most difficult part, so I’m working on a few prototype squares.

I’ll probably have to break down and go to a fabric store as I don’t have many large pieces of fabric left for the background and the back.

In the meantime, SoilMan has officially declared war on the ground squirrels who have dug a huge hole directly under the foundation of our house. He gave up when the outside temperature reached 35°C. They’re probably partying underneath our house as if it was a Florida beach. He was contemplating taking a shower before a final birthday call from a friend in Colorado until I reminded him that it’s just a plain old phone call...no zoom or Face Time.

Is it possible that we’re getting used to living like hermits? The paper said this morning that 80% of last week’s cases resulting in death were contracted in nursing homes. The county has asked the state to send help in controlling the spread in nursing homes.

It’s hard not to rant about how abysmally badly the government is handling the Covid crisis. Really not handling it at all unless Trump can figure out a way to use the virus as a way to line his pockets or get re-elected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.