Pickled walnuts?

My brother in law was delighted when I fed him some of the first pickled walnuts I made, from back in 2016! They do keep well!
He was so enthusiastic that I decided to make some more, the fruits being just ready and still soft enough to poke a skewer through.
So he helped me pick a bucket full, and they have been soaking in brine for three days. The next stage is to lay them out in the sunshine until they turn black. This is obviously a recipe that assumes you live in the south! However, I put them outside for the day, and they seem a little darker. Maybe the sun will reappear!
We went for a walk in Brigsteer Woods this afternoon and spotted these little blue leaf hoppers courting on a leaf (see extra). There seem to be lots of these around this summer, although I have never seen them previously. They are the most blue insects I’ve seen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.