horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

First principles?

Really, this is why cats were domesticated in the first place. Handy to have around to keep the mice and rats from raiding the grain store or whatever. But. I still try to rescue the rats that live under the chicken run, though often think I'm only helping them survive to be taken by one of the local foxes (who stake out the same areas in the garden as the cats).

This one had too much life. Had a go at Harris, then evading my grasp that would have saved him as he scrambled up a wall, and over to god knows where. I don't know if the pursuing Harris caught up with him or not. It might even be the same one I did manage to grab in the morning with both Isla and Harris watching intently, ushering him off back under the run.

So I had a decent, if busy, Monday morning in comparison - even if after work was done my head kinda crashed, and save for a call with my brother (curtailed by attempts at rodent rescue), continue to fail to achieve the things on my 'more interesting things to do' list.

I should add, I only got the photo above after giving up trying to get Harris to leave the rat alone. Every time I got close he'd grab it and run off a little distance, so instead I tried to distract him from further away, which gave the rat the window of opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.