Functional

Everything on this record deck needs to be there. There are no frills or unnecessary decoration. I like that.

In the good old days, when I wrote code, the same things applied. There was an elegance to a piece of logic if it did what it had to with as little complexity as possible.

P.G. Wodehouse and Raymond Chandler, in very different ways, had the same quality in their writing. A word had to earn its place in a sentence.

And I think that I am trying to follow the same idea with photographs. That doesn't have to mean that they have to be all minimalist with just a picture of, oh, I don't know, a black record deck against a white wall, but everything in them should mean something.

Well, that's all a bit pretentious and tossy, isn't it?

So here's a quote from Plum and another from Mr Chandler...

"She fitted into my biggest arm-chair as if it had been built round her by someone who knew they were wearing arm-chairs tight about the hips that season."

"From 30 feet away she looked like a lot of class. From 10 feet away she looked like something made up to be seen from 30 feet away."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.