Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Expensive Peanut Butter

I was heading to campus to turn in some translation work, this time for my theme class (French to English), and as I was just about to take a step out the door, I noticed that it was drizzling. I didn't have my umbrella on me, so I had to go back upstairs to go get it. The drizzling here seems to be really strong. A few minutes in it and you can be really wet.

After that I went home and prepared some breakfast. It was approximately ten. I was waiting for my toast to warm up in the oven, so I tinkered on piano a bit. The next thing I know, Rosine was on her way up and she said, you should leave the door open so that we can hear you. I felt a bit embarrassed and then she said the piano is not well tuned, isn't it. Since she came up unexpectedly, my French was rather terrible. My responses were mush... it was bad. She said her grandchildren were going to spend the night and she added that we should take the dishes down and the garbage (or perhaps, the rubbish :P). When I went downstairs, Jacques started talking to me and I still wasn't very French coherent so as I spoke to him my answers were "oui, oui..." yeah...

Well my plans for the day were to go watch a film and do some (more) grocery shopping. The movie was at about 12 and it was going close to time, so I didn't eat. I realized that my memory card was full on my camera. I uploaded the pictures and the 17 minute movie of my yesterday's tram ride. That took forever, so I left the house at around 11:30.

I rushed to Utopia and barely made it for "La Journée de la jupe" (The Journey of the Skirt). It was the first French film I've seen here and it was a really interesting film. At first though, I found it a bit hilarious. The film was trying to be detective-like, like some late night CSI episode. The choice of lighting and camera motions made the film odd because they didn't really correspond with each other. The camera would circle around characters in the make-shift headquarters, but the lighting and acting made it hard to take what the characters were trying to say even though they were really serious. So yeah, it was a good film though. It went through a lot of French high school aged student issues and it was definitely a good way to learn more about French society.

I even was able to pull ideas from my film sociology class, which I am taking here. What idea the professor talked about was film representing society and that what is filmed is representation of what people think about society. I think it really takes an outside perspective to understand that film is a representation of society and as being an outsider of French society, I can really understand that what I'm viewing is a depiction of what the French think about themselves and their society.

Anywhos, I only took "one" photo today. I went to Auchan after the movie and I found imported peanut butter. Each gram of peanut butter is about one cent. That's really expensive! 3.61 euro for a 340 gram container of peanut butter. Wow!

One more thing, at roughly 8pm, the grandchildren came up the stairs and I went out of my room to say hello. Rosine told them to give me a "bisous," a kiss, and it was a bit weird, but I kneeled down and they kissed my cheek. It was really cute. Oscar, the 2yr old, even was excited to tell me about the movie they watched or are going to watch (I'm not sure if they've seen it yet). He brought out a DVD and it was Sinbad. He asked me if I've seen it and I told them I can't remember if I did. haha.

BACKBLIPPED:
Thursday, March 26, 2009

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.