Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

Strike!

Today’s hot humid day turned to storms over the supper hour. The wind and lightning came quickly, and was so powerful that the rain was coming down sideways. And there was lots of it.

This blip was my yard cam catching a sudden flash of lightning. So I didn’t really take it, but I set up the equipment to take it. Soooooo, yeah. The line blurs in there someplace. :)

The strike came behind the trees up on the hill on the other side of the house. Probably near to my neighbors house. But I haven’t heard a peep from them yet so I’m assuming they’re OK.

That tower you see up there behind the house, is how we get our Internet in this rural location. And it’s always a risky affair when the lightning strikes because it causes a blast of electric energy that often blows out the Internet equipment. Every two summers or so we need to replace the equipment because of a storm.

Thankfully today was ok. Which is how you’re reading this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.