Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Lytham Windmill

I was in Lytham St Anne’s this afternoon. I thought it was a really smart place.

Amidst my regaling my lovely companion with my vague memories of my one & only visit so far to Lytham (I was 4, possibly 5 & on a school trip; the priest rolled his trousers up to his knees & splashed through the waves with us) I noticed this windmill.

Naively, I thought it was a novelty replica of a windmill (a source of great amusement to my companion) but no, it is indeed a real one that had a meaningful & integral function during the nineteenth century. It was of course, a grain mill.

We read the information board, like proper tourists. As is often the case with a slice of 19th century history- especially that of the north; we found ourselves, a few paragraphs in to be discovering the following:

A “small boy” had become entangled by loose clothing on one of the “wings” of the windmill & was “swept up into the air” where he lost his grip & “sadly, fell to his death”.

What a conversation stopper! The poor boy.

Is it just me or is there something very obscure about our British fascination with the macabre?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.