Simac

By Simac

Day Twelve

An early start today as it was going to be my longest stage to date. The Avon Skin-so-Soft that I was using as insect repellent had so far been 100% effective. The general stores in Crianlarich had a big stock and a local gent said that the locals all swore by it.
The weather took a turn for the worse in Glen Coe, torrential rain and a storm force headwind meant that I was pedalling hard, down a steep hill, yet barely doing 10 mph. By the time I found the cafe in the village I was bitterly cold and soaked to the skin. The cafe owner said that in Scotland you have to take the bad with the bad.
Once the weather cleared I made good time and caught up with Matt, Steve and Andy who I had been bumping into since Cornwall.
The Youth Hostel at Loch Ness had an enviable position overlooking the Loch and had it been a hotel would have charged a fortune!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.