An orange boat from Norway

The Caley Canal was busy today with two vessels from Norway, and a big boat from the Netherlands. My old acquaintance, Jimmy, would have enjoyed it. Unfortunately Jimmy passed away earlier in the year. I used to run into him and his Westie on the towpath, always stopping for a blether. He was a character, and he told me so many funny things, that I wrote them into a story. I decided never to show him it, because I was scared that he would think I was making fun of him, which I was to a degree, but always affectionately. The first extra shows Jimmy's boat, 'Nancy,' being guided back to its berth after an abortive 'sea trail.'
"The propeller doesn't connect to the engine," said the man of few words wearing his characteristic yellow wellies. The second extra is the only time I got some of Jimmy's face. I pretty much knew that he had passed away, but today I got confirmation from a boatyard worker.

RIP Jimmy. I will miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.