Wide Wednesday: Heavy Metal

I was never into the sort of music which goes with this week's Widwed challenge, organised as always by Bobsblips and hosted this week by RockArea. So I thought this might do as an alternative.

These brass weights are fairly heavy, and I put them on these rather super old scales for the photo. I inherited the scales from my late grandmother when she died 42 years ago, and she'd had them as long as I can remember so they must be getting on a bit. I find the mechanism rather intriguing - and indeed I might well blip the inside of them sometime as there's quite an arrangement of levers hidden in there. Of course you don't need the brass weights with this type of scales, but what's wrong with a bit of artistic licence?!

As they can weigh up to 11lb they're quite handy. In fact I used them this afternoon to weigh out some mortar mix, as I'm busy repointing round the outer frame of our kitchen window (part of our ongoing exterior decorating project which is, sadly, affecting my efficiency in blip comments at present - apologies!).

As my Editor will be reading this, and because we still occasionally use the scales in the kitchen, I'd better add that I carefully covered the scale pan in polythene before using it for the mortar!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.