Auschwitz

I am using amazon pictures for storage and every day they offer me a review of my pictures taken on that day over the past 20 years. In 2008 I visited Auschwitz with 100 school children. It was a dramatic experience on many levels. The gate and the railway spoke to me of division...built on fear of difference.
Today, 12 years on, we buried John Hume, a giant in peace building here in this place I call home. 80 years on from the holocaust we still need peace builders. Let me close with a John Hume quote.
"Difference is of the essence of humanity. Difference is an accident of birth and it should therefore never be the source of hatred or conflict. The answer to difference is to respect it. Therein lies a most fundamental principle of peace: respect for diversity."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.