The day to start is today

By Traci

Watch a flock of starlings form a Murmuration !!!


Every year between Autumn and February, Somerset starlings flock together over the Somerset Levels & Moors to create huge and magnificent starling murmurations.

One of nature's best and most magnificent sights, the starlings form into sweeping ball like shapes in their thousands, sometimes hundreds of thousands before flying down and roosting in the trees.

Starling murmurations, where thousands of birds flock together, swirling in the sky at dawn and dusk, are one of the ultimate winter spectacles. During the colder months, up and down the country, hundreds of thousands of starlings darken the sky with these incredible, acrobatic displays on their way to or from their roosts.

It is quite funny to think that people take the time to travel hundreds of miles to find these amazing sights, and don't get me wrong, I find them completely breathtaking, but I spend most evenings avoiding them. For a few weeks of the year on my way home when dusk corresponds with my journey home, I have to travel slowly along the Levels road - just in case - from behind a quite innocent looking hedge there swoops a mass assault of starlings .... not taking any notice at all of my car ... and even though as yet I haven't been hit, I really don't know how not !!! They are incredible, the whole flock follow the leader and goodness knows what would happen if one looked back, chaos. It brings a whole higher level to teamwork and cooperation.

I couldn't wait around tonight for the sun to go down when they are at there most spectacular but they were up and down practising prior to the evening show in this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.