Light & sight

By CameronDP

Moustache

Meet the impressively moustachioed and undeniably too-hatted Mr JH Dacre. He was featured in the October 1 1904 edition of The Gentleman's Journal, an august but long forgotten precursor, I guess, to the alarmingly glossy likes of GQ et al.
I found Mr Dacre looking out at me from a display cabinet in the local library. That edition was deemed to be of special note, I suppose, because of a double page spread on the 'Commercial World of Harrogate'. It seems some serious Edwardian-style retail therapy was available back then.
I am not really sure who the distinguished-looking Mr Dacre was, but there is still an estate agent here bearing that name so it's entirely possible he was one of the founders.
I like to think that if I had been around back in 1904, I would have been a suitably attired subscriber to The Gentleman's Journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.