Echna Loch

My first time across the barriers this year.  After Tom put the thumb screws on me it could be the last.  A pleasant day catching up with a report from our out posting in EH; however, at times the static, QRM and interference was distracting.  But we didn’t crack.  We took minutes and then burned them.  I then beat it round to base. 
Although I have had one yellow card rescinded, I awoke to a card from CMC for our wedding anniversary.  I had no reciprocating card.  Another yellow card.  I asked CMC how many years it’s been – all she would say was ‘Not as many as Talpa’.  I then whisked CMC round to the Cat shop in Stromness.  I went and made up my Mum’s tablets (a hint of rouge) and took her for a walk; after much immobility she did very well. 
After getting my mum’s messages I went and surprised CMC in the Cat Shop with an anniversary card.  I then lost two pairs of glasses in two minutes and had to retrieve them.  Getting in the car I sat on, and broke, my sunglasses.
On arriving back at HQ (CMC will be spending the night in Hoy) I was surprised by Dougal and Fraser coming up from a coastal walk.
I now have an eight-figure map reference for the location of a cask strength bottle of Springbank, at the inappropriately named Brandyquoy.
Safely back over the barriers the tension was palpable at the news of delivery of my pre-amp tomorrow.
Paddy McAloon is 63.  He’s still trawling the megahertz.
The Patersons could only take so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.