Munsterplein

We all enjoyed a fabulous meal last night at an Italian restaurant (Da Mauro) in Roermond. I wasn't warned in any way as to what to expect. A vast array of food was served up to us, including a variety of the most wonderful and unusual vegetarian concoctions. The food was so good that it all demanded to be tried. And everyone was quite keen that I did indeed try everything, several times over. All the various platters were demolished and I have to be admit that I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a bit more of it. Nevertheless, I was well enough fed and was starting to think about dessert - at which point (I can be a bit slow at times!) it suddenly became obvious to me that this feast had just been the starter! I was half horrified and half delighted. There were two more main courses, separated by a chef's special (as a little gift), and then a huge spread of desserts. It was some of the best food I've ever tasted, and also possibly as much food as I've ever before eaten in one sitting. Although the food was amazing I fear it was one of those cases where more was actually less. For me, the sheer quantity of food detracted from its undeniable quality. There was just more temptation that I could handle.

We duly completed the third of the workshop sessions today. Like the previous two days we managed to get a lot of stuff signed off but also discovered a whole new set of complications. Still, all the final design decisions have now been made and we have a comprehensive list of features/issues/bugs to start working through. When all those boxes are ticked we will have our prototype system ready to deliver.

Today was the last of these sessions that we're likely to have as a team. It's been a privilege to work with these women, all very professional and dedicated but also very funny and thoroughly delightful company. Again, there wasn't much time for photography as I had a late afternoon meeting elsewhere before going on to Schipol (where this was a blip possibility) to catch my flight home. I had just enough time to sneak out on a break to revisit the Munsterplein. I could have blipped this couple walking their dog (where I was caught once again in the act), but my fondest memories of Roermond are tied up with these statues. They make the best subjects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.